Thinking about Church


GodReflection: It’s Jesus Friday

garyguarujaToday I’m thinking about church.

It occurs to me for the past 2000 years people have attempted to describe the nature of Jesus church. They have also made a lot of rules as to who is in and who is out.

Is it possible I am over thinking church?

Is it possible that the church is nothing more and nothing less than the body of believers who follow Jesus? Is it possible that down through the centuries that all that belonged to Jesus belonged to the church?

Didn’t I read that Jesus adds all of his disciples to his body the church?

It must be the right church since it is Jesus body.

Does that mean my beliefs don’t have to align 100% with the beliefs of my granddad, my dad, or Uncle John since we all placed our trust in Jesus? And, by so doing are all members of the body.

Does that mean I can believe some wrong things and still belong to the perfect church as long as I place my faith in Jesus as the sacrificial lamb for all my sin?

If I get Jesus right by submission to him, don’t I get church right.

Seems Biblical—however, I’m just wondering?

Stay tuned. It’s Jesus.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on It’s Jesus Church.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in God Reflection, It's Jesus Friday by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

