God’s Presence is a Big Deal


GodReflection: Power Word Wednesday

“If your Presence does not go with us, do not send us up from here. Exodus 33:15

garyguarujaJesus’ parables were stories he composed to illustrate the point he was to make. My invented parable for the point I want to make starts in the Operating Room.

Banks of bright lights shine down on the surgical table. The IV stands ready for the deep sleep juice. Then a nurse moves toward the table to announce a change in plans. The surgeon decided at the last minute not to be present. If it’s ok, his physician assistant will proceed with the delicate surgery.

presence1Not a chance—I want the presence of the authentic surgeon.

After Israel made its first idol to worship in place of the Holy Creator, God’s hurt and anger flashed so hot He wanted nothing more than to wipe the nation from the earth and start over with Moses.

The anger of God burned to the point He was afraid if He continued the trip He might kill the people along the way.

After His first agreement with Moses to spare His people, God instructed Moses “Now go, lead the people to the place I spoke of, and my angel will go before you.”

presence4Moses didn’t want a God Assistant. He needed the very presence of the Holy.

So God agrees:

“My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.” Then Moses said to him, “If your Presence does not go with us, do not send us up from here. How will anyone know that you are pleased with me and with your people unless you go with us?

Here is my take away. It is Moses concluding observation:

What else will distinguish me and your people from all the other people on the face of the earth?”

Talk about a power word.

Presence suddenly jumps from the page. It is to be my mark of distinction. It is always true with God’s children. Without His presence, what else will distinguish me, and the rest of God’s children, from all the other people on the face of the earth?

It almost sounds like the first draft of the final commission of Jesus to go into the entire the world when Jesus affirms, I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

presence3Father God,

Help me to trust you yet more fully. There are times when I feel your presence and there are times it feels distant even though your presence never moves away. My prayer is to believe—to believe that the cloud and fire of your presence leads and envelopes my 24/7 walk.

In the name of Jesus may it be so.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on God’s Power of God’s Presence.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in God Reflection, Power Words and tagged , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

2 thoughts on “God’s Presence is a Big Deal

  1. Olá Gary,
    Esse último artigo postado em seu site é excelente. Sinto muitas saudades de nossos encontros na época do inicio da igreja do metrô e também e no Acampamento, Deus te ABENÇOE,
    Walter Lapa

    Like

Leave a Reply

