Yikes, I Hate Change


GodReflection: Power Word Wednesday

garyguarujaI don’t get it. Why is change so hard?

It’s as if my aversion to change arrived wired into my DNA.

Superficial change is easier.  It makes me no difference if my shirt color is red, green, blue, or yellow.

Neither do routine changes with daylight savings time or spring to summer cause much of a bump in my road.

The constant change in computer technology does raise the bar two or three notches on my pain meter.

change6Relocation—now that’s a biggie. The pain meter jumps again. To pull family roots from soil that I’ve care for during multiple years while I know full well to replant in new soil will be to face hardship and a taste of death along the way is enormous. That sort of change comes with great cost.

Death takes change to an entire new level on the pain meter. When it invades family and other friends, change demands adaptation. Unlike change caused by relocation change due to death of a child, parent, sibling, or close friend leaves a hole in the soul for life. No one would choose that sort of change.

Strange as it may sound, I’ve come to believe that these changes may not be the most difficult. Most change in life leave no choice but to react. They come my way from outside forces. Their call is to adapt.

change3Perhaps the hardest change comes with the need to adjust my belief system so that I can align my life fully with God.

I acquired my beliefs about God during my formative years. They came from godly parents and saints from my childhood church. My beliefs about God, Jesus, the Holy Spirit, and the Bible were as comfortable as the furniture in my adolescent home.

Like my facial features acquired from birth my beliefs attained from youth are me.  I’m sure the thought never crossed my mind as to the degree of difficulty that change in my belief system would require.

I find myself on the sunset side of life still encountering amazement after amazement to find assumptions in my belief system aren’t necessarily true.

The Trinity and their teachings remain eternally true. However, my finite mind is yet in discovery mode.

change1The pain comes when I bump up against the eternal and discover I give more value to tradition than truth as my wrong beliefs stare me in the face wondering if I will blink.

Sometime, even though I follow a comfortable tradition rather than divine truth there is no harm. At other times the tradition blocks a richer life.

I want to embrace change as a word of power to guide my walk. The change I need is to look more like Jesus.

Here is what I think.

If I can be courageous enough to change as I bump up against the image of Jesus, I will learn how to make course corrections in my walk that will allow his light and life to penetrate.

Not only will that enrich my own soul—but enough of his light might just seep out to light someone else’s way. That would be enough to embrace change more easily as a power word to deepen my walk.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on God’s Power of Change.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

 

One thought on “Yikes, I Hate Change

Leave a Reply

