God Breaks In At Fatherhood


GodReflection: God Breaks In Monday

garyguarujaI don’t know what happened. Scripture is silent. I wish I knew the details.

Living in a city composed of cities, my 21st century world provides a gourmet selection of rich cultures. When I turn on the television or once I leave my house the people I encounter no longer have names enoch3like John and Mary. Many are multiple syllable names that leave me without a clue how to pronounce. Truth is—I am poorer for not learning and I miss potential opportunities to be light.

Old Testament Scripture is replete with multiple syllable names. One such name is Methuselah. His claim to fame is the birthday record. Only he celebrated 969 birthdays.

For me, the story of interest is the one of Enoch his father. After the fact of his birth, God gives the sum of his life in four sentences.

When Enoch had lived 65 years, he became the father of Methuselah.  After he became the father of Methuselah, Enoch walked faithfully with God 300 years and had other sons and daughters.  Altogether, Enoch lived a total of 365 years.

Enoch walked faithfully with God; then he was no more, because God took him away.

Here is what I think.

garden8Something special happened at the birth of his son when he was 65 years old. It changed the trajectory of his life. Was fatherhood the difference?  I wonder if God broke into Enoch’s life with the arrival of his first-born.

For the first 65 years Enoch lived. For the last 300 he walked with God. 

Those last 300 years are the ones I wish I knew more about. What did it mean to walk with God? Did God descend and walk with him in a similar way that He walked with Adam and Eve? Apparently, it was a 300-year friendship.

Rather than record setting birthdays like his son, Enoch’s friendship with God was his legacy. Their walk was so close that God broke in and took him to be near always.

enoch5That was then—but what about now?

Here is what I believe. God broke into His world through His Son Jesus because He wants to build friendship with me. Is it possible God broke in through Enoch’s son because He desired friendship with Enoch?

Like His relationship with Enoch, He not only wants to be my friend now but also through eternity.   

God comes like a little child His heartfelt request “will you be my friend?”

Knowing His invitation came through the cross increases my desire to be a truer friend with each step of my earth walk.

enoch7Like the truest of friends, He constantly picks me up as I stumble on the trail. He loves. He forgives. He loves.

However, my guess is that Enoch was more consistent that I am and that his heart was farther along in the relationship than mine is.

Maybe just maybe as I build my friendship with the Creator, when God breaks in to begin the next reality I can join with Enoch and God on their walk.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection On God Breaks In At Fatherhood.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in God Breaks In Monday, God Reflection and tagged , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

