God Breaks Into the Garden


GodReflection: God Breaks In Monday

garyguarujaI lacked courage to title this post, Walking Naked with God

Such a title seemed irreverent.

Yet, there is an intimacy with the Creator at the core of the thought.

I sit back and attempt to imagine life prior to the fall. God planted a garden and watered it with stream irrigation—no rain needed. All in anticipation of the creation of Adam.

As the garden grew He formed Adam from the dust of the ground. From the same ground, he formed birds and animals of the field.

I picture God introducing Himself to Adam letting the new man know they would spend time together. Surely, the Creator made frequent visits. He gave Adam a two-part job description—to manage the garden and to name the animals.

garden5I wonder how long it took God to parade each bird, livestock, and all the beasts of the field before Adam to receive a name. Did God or man count time? Was it days, weeks, or years?

Creation climaxed with the formation of Eve from Adams rib, from God’s dirt, and His Holy life giving breathe.

The Holy Spirit observes, The man and his wife were both naked, and they felt no shame. 

However, shamelessness didn’t last.

I fast forward through the fall and find, Then the eyes of both of them were opened, and they realized they were naked; so they sewed fig leaves together and made coverings for themselves. 

Then the man and his wife heard the sound of the Lord God as he was walking in the garden in the cool of the day, and they hid from the Lord God among the trees of the garden.

But the Lord God called to the man, “Where are you?” He answered, “I heard you in the garden, and I was afraid because I was naked; so I hid.”

Here is what I think.

garden7Prior to their disobedience Adam and Eve were so intimate with God and each other there was nothing to hide.

I envision God often leaving His heaven to break into the garden to walk and visit with man and woman. Whatever form He took certainly was familiar to them. They knew God. Perhaps they even watch giraffes frolic and play together as God’s eyes beamed with creation pride.

I suspect that He told the story of how his new friends and the garden came to be. I imagine He radiated His love and dreams of intimate friendship.

Each time God broke into the garden they walk naked and unashamed with their Holy friend.

When sin entered the garden, shame entered the relationship. The man and his wife could no longer stand naked before God.

So here I am thousands of year’s later living life making fig leaves to cover my shame.  Truth is I’m not a very good tailor. I can’t seem to keep up with the patch jobs. 

garden10I look forward to the time in God’s restored garden when He will break in to walk with me and shame will be a relic of the past.

With the garden restored to the state of its original perfection, I wouldn’t be surprised to find myself walking naked with God and not even notice that I forgot to put on my tie.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection On God Breaks Into the Garden.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in God Breaks In Monday, God Reflection and tagged , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

