Beethoven and Creation Joy


GodReflection: Power Word Wednesday

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here.  2 Corinthians 5:17

garyguarujaNot that God needs my opinion—but I love the way His Bible begins. It begins with the Song of Creation.

Traveling to and from South America was always an overnight flight. After a restless night of 10 hours in a cramped coach seat, the airline would greet the dawn with Ode To Joy by Ludwig Van Beethoven.

Pull-down movie screens accompanied the melody with background pristine scenes of a yellowish red dawn, countless species of colorful birds in flight, playful animals, rivers, and spectacular plant life.

The affect of creation beauty set to music was awe and joy.

creation1I picture the Genesis song as an attempt to share the sheer joy of God in creation. I can see Him with an ear-to-ear smile and a sense of joyful pride as He rolled out creation.

What fun it must have been to create—some blue here, some red there, big eyes, beautiful antlers, endless, form, function, and beauty.

The diversity was so great that even today the list of known species continues to grow upon new discoveries.

Like the chorus of a song God pronounces seven time “it was good” as day and night, sky and water, ground and seas, plants and trees, sun and moon, birds and marine life, livestock and wild animals, man and woman broke forth through the Creator’s joy.

creation6As a city dweller I miss far too much of God’s creation.

No longer do I see endless starlit skies and jaw dropping aspen meadows with grazing elk.

I suspect God still smiles at the rare times I join with Him in joy over creation.

Today most of those scenes reside in my memory bank.

Here is what I think.

I still find it powerful to pause and honor God’s creation. Creation reminds me of two things.

creation3Creation stands as witness to God’s power. I remind myself He has the power to see me through to the end of my earth walk.

Second, creation is a testimony to God’s joy. The joy of creation that caused Him to break into the song seven times declaring goodness is the same joy fountain that causes God to declare goodness in my creation.

Creation serves to remind me that God sees me as good. That elevates creation to power word status in my vocabulary. As I remember how God see me, space increases in my heart for the Holy Spirit to do his work.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on God’s Power of Creation.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

Leave a Reply

