It’s Not About Religion–It’s About Heart


GodReflection: It’s Jesus Friday

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God—For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. – Jesus

garyguarujaI suspect Satan loves religion. Religion distracts me from God’s desire for my allegiance.

I have two hearts. Both are vital organs. One keeps my body alive while on my earthly walk. The other keeps my soul alive in the present and in the eternal. It is my most vital organ—my eternal heart.

heart3My eternal heart is of concern to the Holy. God created it for eternity. Jesus cleansed it. The Holy Spirit resides within it.

The one thing I want to get right is my eternal heart.

I get distracted in trying to please God by my actions when I do religion. I continue to discover that religion has little to do with God’s primary concern of a pliable heart submitted to Him. Religion easily becomes ritual.

I own a copy of the New Testament that I received from my parents most likely before I could read. I own an old King James Bible that took me through my growing up years. In college, I learned other versions than King James existed. I now read various translations of Scripture.

heart13My current Bible has over one thousand pages of history, stories, laws, and grace. I am intentional in my quest to comprehend scripture.

However, my understanding will always be limited as I try to understand eternal God.

I will never conquer the entirety of my Bible.

Thankfully, Jesus tells me the sum of the entire Bible is two commandments. I only have to get two things right.

Love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your strength, and with all your mind; and, Love your neighbor as yourself.

The heart flow is what pleases the Holy.

I am impressed with Jesus’ heart concerns and connections described in the Gospels. One touching scene was the funeral procession led by the heart broken widow of Nain. She grieved the loss of her only son. I too have both witnessed and felt her inexpressible sorrow. When the Lord saw her, his heart went out to her and he said, “Don’t cry.”

I serve a Jesus whose heart is tender toward humanity. Jesus makes my heart the connection between the heart of the Holy and the heart of my neighbor.

heart1To keep my heart aligned with the heart of Jesus will keep my heart aligned with God and with human need.

It will also keep me from perpetuating the religion of rules and regulations.  It’s not about my accurate comprehension of all details in Scripture. It’s not about a worship formula.

It’s about the heart.

Aligned with the heart of Jesus my obedience will follow. It’s about heart.

It’s Jesus.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Jesus and Heart.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

 

This entry was posted in God Reflection, It's Jesus Friday and tagged , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

2 thoughts on “It’s Not About Religion–It’s About Heart

  1. Oh how I love this one, Gary!! Thank you! I like the concept of our two hearts. Had to smile about the translations of the Bible. How I remember my brain and tongue tripping and scrambling over the King James, and then later sorta wondering if another translation would cause God’s displeasure!! ☺️
    I’m enjoying our time together 3 mornings a week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

