Show and Tell–Jesus Introduced God


GodReflection: It’s Jesus Friday

garyguarujaI couldn’t begin to imagine how many millions of children participate through the years in “Show and Tell.”

The classroom event begins with great anticipation. I would gloat with pride to share my prize rock. Then a classmate with an over parenting mother would stand with something like a personally signed letter from George Washington.

showtell5Jesus outdid us all. He came to show God and tell about Him to every tribe, and language, and people, and nation.

Back when I worked more closely with citizens of other nations, to understand more fully my fellow globe mates, I took numerous university courses in Cultural Anthropology. I remember I learned that every known tribe, language, people, and nation had religion in common. The human species always seeks deity.

I think of King Solomon’s conclusion: He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.

Since the time of Adam and Eve, Creator God’s purpose is to love men, women, and children, and to see His love returned from the hearts of all people.

Prior to the birth of Jesus, only the Jewish people knew Jehovah God. One sad storyline of Scripture is that even a massive number of Jews—His chosen people—didn’t seem to know God at all.

showtell2Then, the bell of the world classroom rings and it is time for Holy Show and Tell.

Jesus walks the streets of Jerusalem, Judea, Galilee, and Samaria, for the better part of three years to show God to his contemporaries. In truth, his reach was greater still. He showed the heart of God to humankind down to the present day.

Old Testament Scripture introduces God as Creator, Love, Forgiver, and Judge.  Jesus of the Gospels adds texture to my God awareness and—dare I say it—Jesus adds the dimension of a God whose interested in me as person.   

Jesus shows me the God who is in my corner. He sits beside me so close that I can touch, taste, and feel His grace as it overflows to cover me with a thick warm coat.

He is the God who cries with me when I shed tears of pain, remorse, and joy. He is the God who desire to live inside my very being. He is the God who holds my best interest in His extended hand ready for me to reach upward.

He is the God who hurts when I feel pain.

He is the God who feeds my soul, quenches my thirst, and provides for my needs. As an illustration, Jesus reminds me of God’s care for the birds of the air and the flowers of the earth. Then, assures me that God’s interest in me is still greater.

showtell12It’s such a short sentence. Jesus conversed with unbelievers in the Gospel of John about sheep and– boom he slipped it in: “I and the Father are one.”

Paul tells believers, The Son is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation . . . For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form . . .

Here is what I think. When I watch how Jesus acts, I see the heart of God.

God directs the Four Gospels to me.

showtell7Through the four Gospel writers, Jesus shows and tells of a God that I did not see clearly in the Old Testament.

He has interest in me. He forgives me and gushes grace upon me as I walk this earth. He is a God who wants no more from me than my heart. When I give my heart to Him, He gives His heart to me.

Just perhaps, maybe I too ought to show and tell the same story. Don’t you think?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Jesus Introduces God.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

One thought on “Show and Tell–Jesus Introduced God

  1. Fantasstice, (pardon my French) my brother, Gary, so well put. Terrificly expressed in such magnetic language.  I love’d it, really.Thanks,Lynn  

    Like

Leave a Reply

