The Ultimate Gift


GodReflection: It’s Jesus Friday

garyguarujaThere are gifts. Santa Claus gives gifts along with the routine exchange of gifts during the Christmas season.

Gifts celebrate the arrival of new babies and birthdays. Gifts honor brides and grooms. We celebrate birthdays and anniversaries with gifts.

Gifts of honor are presented to dignitaries.

There are catch your breath knock your socks off kinds of gifts. These grand gifts tend to have huge monetary value or be a one of a kind esteemed object. Rarely are these gifts anticipated.

Sacrificial surprises that touch hearts are accompanied with the recipient’s tears of appreciation. Such treasures hold immeasurable value to donor recipients who receive gifts of life saving hearts, lungs, and kidneys.

gift11To kick gifts up a notch, I think of the One who owns all gifts. God declared,  ” . . . for every animal of the forest is mine, and the cattle on a thousand hills. I know every bird in the mountains, and the insects in the fields are mine. . . . for the world is mine, and all that is in it.”

Everything within my care is a gift of God.

What an ingrate I am to catch myself taking for granted His gifts. I should never receive a gift from this world—including gifts from friends—without the true source of the gift flashing across my mind.

gift3Then, there is THE GIFT.

This one moves beyond my comprehension. I don’t even know how to describe the gift. The truth is that an adequate description can never exist on the lips of man or woman.

In the midst of heavenly tears that flowed in harmony with Jesus’ earthly tears, God sacrificed God on a cross to pay for every sin I commit while I walk on earth. Then after three days, He raised His God-man son back to life with the promise that I too will experience resurrection.

gift10And to think—God gave this gift to me.  It’s Jesus.

Best of all, God’s gift of Jesus is available to anyone who is willing to receive it with reciprocal love.

What a gift. It’s the ultimate gift. It’s Jesus.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Jesus as God’s Greatest Gift.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in God Reflection, It's Jesus Friday and tagged , , , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

2 thoughts on “The Ultimate Gift

  1. Gary, thank you for this another excellent reflection on God: The enormity of His Ultimate Gift. May we take notice and respond accordingly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

