I’ve Learned a Different Way to Read My Bible


GodReflection: It’s Jesus Friday

garyguarujaI’ve spent a lifetime in and around Scripture. There were far too many times of thoughtless perusal. I used it at times as mere preparation to put together an assignment for the classroom or the pulpit.

As I reflect backwards over the years, although sincere in my presentation, there were more outings than I would like to admit when I taught from past conclusions rather than from deep mining.

From childhood through the sunset years of my present life the truth and inspiration of Holy Scripture only grows stronger. I believe the Bible to be true and Inspired by Creator God.

bible2My Bible It is not only inspired—it is God-breathed. It pulsates with God’s Spirit. There are times I read Scripture and find myself limited too little more than following the story.

On other occasions, I feel its breath.

The exact help I need jumps off the page. It’s as if God knows what’s going on in my life and sets holy insights exactly where I need to find divine assistance.

I like the idea of a breathing pulsating Bible.

Like Paul’s young protégé Timothy, the Holy Scriptures has paralleled my life since infancy.

The Holy Scriptures are able to make you (me) wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus.

Because:

bible1All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting, and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.

It is from this foundation that I will attempt to place in words my partial understanding of how Scripture functions as it declare; it’s Jesus.

The entirety of the Biblical message relates to the core purpose of declaring Jesus the Savior of the world.

What does that mean for how I read my Bible?

I read my Bible cover to cover to see the scope of God’s complete story. I find that everything from Genesis up to the Gospel of Matthew points to Jesus as the main focal point of the Scriptures.

The Bible is about Jesus.

The Gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John) tell the story of Jesus life on earth.  They declare Jesus as Truth. The Gospels teach me if I can see Jesus, I will see God.

bible9From Jesus I learn the nature of God’s heart and the depth of His love for His creation.

I identify God’s value system when I watch and listen to Jesus. I see God’s attributes through Jesus.

In Jesus is the very heart of all that God is up to in this world and the next. Through Jesus, I learn that following God is an issue of the heart rather than creating laws to keep.

From the Acts of the Apostle through Jesus’ Revelation to the Apostle John I see infant members of the body of Christ attempting to live out their trust in Jesus and their commitment to him as their Savior.

One quick observation:

Most of my life I’ve read the Bible in segments without the realization it is one story that moves toward Jesus.

bible16Too often, I read the story backwards.

Through my church tribe, I’ve camped within the Act of the Apostles and the Letters as I attempted to make church visible on earth.

bible17Out of habit, I strained Jesus and His church through the New Testament Letters. Instead, it seems I should strain the New Testament Letters and the New Testament church through Jesus of the Gospels.

Working from the Letters backward to Jesus it is far too easy to build do’s and don’ts from fragments of Scripture and draw speculative conclusions that don’t live up to the heart of Jesus as presented in the Gospels.

I will do a better job at reflecting Jesus in my world when I make the effort to filter life, worship, traditions, and service through Jesus example and teachings. It’s Jesus.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Jesus the Heart of Scripture.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “I’ve Learned a Different Way to Read My Bible

  1. This is a challenging article that describes many of us. What pleases me, though,is how much God accomplishes through weak and imperfect followers like me. I’m far from what God desires, and far from what I myself would like to be, but he finds a way to make something good come out of my failed methods and motivations.

    Like

  2. So, so, so, so, well thought out and expressed, amen, amen, amen!Lynn

    From: God Reflection To: huffrichard72@yahoo.com Sent: Friday, January 23, 2015 3:06 AM Subject: [New post] I’ve Learned a Different Way to Read My Bible #yiv1763844085 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv1763844085 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv1763844085 a.yiv1763844085primaryactionlink:link, #yiv1763844085 a.yiv1763844085primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv1763844085 a.yiv1763844085primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv1763844085 a.yiv1763844085primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv1763844085 WordPress.com | Dr. Gary Sorrells posted: “GodReflection: It’s Jesus FridayI’ve spent a lifetime in and around Scripture. There were far too many times of thoughtless perusal. I used it at times as mere preparation to put together an assignment for the classroom or the pulpit.As I reflect ” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

