Even Texans Need The Divine


GodReflection: Power Word Wednesday

garyguarujaWe Texans are an arrogant lot.

Although I wasn’t actually born in Texas I would never admit my lack of pedigree to a fellow Texan.

Texans live with two regrets. The first is that they are not their own nation. We can show statistics that would place us among the top nations of the world.

The second regret is there are actually days when we can’t see the sunshine. The truth isdivine13 we are a wimpy bunch of folks. Let the clouds drop the temperature a few degrees and hide the sunshine four days in a row and we whine and whimper like little kids.

We Texans hate cold cloudy days, especially if there are more than two in a row.

I want to hold that thought. I will come back to it.

Divine is a power word that is difficult to define. It is almost as if it provides its own definition. Scripture doesn’t use the word as much as I imagined.

divine4I find it in reference to God only once in Old Testament writings. It is when the prophet Isaiah uses divine retribution to describe the judgment of God.

New Testament writers use the word to describe His divine being, divine nature, divine glory, divine power, and His divine promise.

Divine is like the word holy.

Like Holy, it too is a word that brings the nature of God under its canopy. God’s being, nature, glory, power, and promise tied to divine make it a power word that I want consistently near my soul.

divine5Being ever the good Texan I see an analogy in the Sunshine.

I too go through days of cloudy gloom.

Throughout the years of my adult life, cold and foreboding dark skies appeared around death and other trials that come with my Adamic genes.

I must say that in looking back, the “Sonshine” never failed to appear between cloudy days.

Truth is the sun in the heavens. It continues bright and warm. However, the clouds hide its radiant rays from our view.

These days as I live the “Golden Years,” (big misnomer) I discover that the dark skies of my life appear most often around health issues. The vitality of youth is no longer my reality.

divineAbove the black clouds, the Divine bathes the darkness in warm light. The SON shines, the Spirit works, and God sees through the dense clouds with love and care that shines from the eyes of His heart.

The Divine stands watch. The Divine provides protection. The Divine shines hope.

divine14I—being a good Texan—whine far too much about the gloomy days of life. I want to live for the day when Jesus will break through the clouds in full glory. The light of his arrival will make even the sun appear dim.

And, we Texas who walk with him on earth will finally live with the Divine in eternal warm light in the biggest and best state in eternity.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Divine as a Power Word.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

This entry was posted in God Reflection, Power Words and tagged , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

3 thoughts on “Even Texans Need The Divine

  1. As Christians we are so blessed to be able to spread “Sonshine” even on cloudy days. Thank you for this encouraging article today.

    Like

  2. Good, Gary, good analogy. Well, they are always good. But being a NATIVE Texan, and most importantly being supported here in Brazil by a Texas church (Western Hills in Temple TX) for 36 years, I have some wonderful memories of Texas living. I agree so much about the comparison of the divine to sunshine. I believe. Thanks be to God, I believe. And that means, like you so clearly wrote, the divine/sunshine is present in my life – always. Sending love and HUGS!

    Like

Leave a Reply

