Jesus and My Tribe


GodReflection: It’s Jesus Friday

A tribe is any group of people, large or small, who are connected to one another, a leader, and an idea. For millions of years, humans have joined tribes, be they religious, ethnic, political, or even musical . . . . It’s our nature. – Seth Godin

garyguarujaBefore looking at Jesus and my tribe I want to set the direction I hope to follow in 2015.

God Breaks In Mondays will reflect on times past, present, and future, when the Holy visits earth. What are those implications for me?

On Power Word Wednesdays, my intent is to reflect further on the power words that shape my walk on earth. I remain intrigued at the power behind a God driven vocabulary. Followers of the Holy guide their lives by a dictionary of the Holy.

Today is the first post on Its Jesus Fridays. Since Jesus walked the earth to show me the heart and face of God, I wonder why he is not the first place I look for my clues on how to live and worship rather than to the rules and traditions set by past and current generations.

tribe2Its Jesus Friday so here I go reflecting on Jesus and my tribe.

Religious folks call their tribe a congregation or a church.

As one who has lived in, among, and around churches my entire life, and even planted a few, I’ve come to think the concept of tribe fits rather well.

Tribes know who is in and who is out. You follow the rules and you are in. You break the rules and you are out. Most of us attribute our rules to God. That gives us the needed authority for the definition of our tribal boundaries.

tribe6Here’s the problem I see. Too many of us focus on tribal definitions as we walk the boundary lines digging them deep into the soil. In the process, we unwittingly assign Jesus a lesser role.

I stand amazed and ashamed at the ease with which I move the focus away from Jesus.

I join with those throughout the ages who have felt pushed by “right rules,” rather than drawn to the Righteous Son.

In 2012, I was acutely aware when I initiated the GodReflection blog of the limited time I have on earth based upon the number of my birthday celebrations—I’ve had three more since.

My stated purpose is to spend my remaining walk on earth to come to know better the Triune God.

tribe10I am far from where I want to be but I am making progress in my attempt to peel away a few of the unwanted barnacles attached to the hull of  my ship as it moves toward the horizon.

I am beginning to see that to know Jesus is to know God.

I’ve learned that Jesus’ church is perfect. It needs neither reformation nor restoration. Who is in constant need of reform and restoration is I. I need to become more like Jesus.

tribe16During 2015 as I explore It’s Jesus Friday, I am determine to declare It’s Jesus.

It will be my purpose to spend more time in the glow of Jesus’ life and teachings. I want to take care not to make rules that weigh down the Jesus walk of others.

It is my aim to draw from those ahead of me in their allegiance to Jesus as Savior as they place him at the center of their walk.

It’s Jesus.

I want to increase the intensity of the flame so that the impurities of religion can be removed leaving Jesus as the pure gold nugget I hold in my hand.

tribe21Will I meet the goal I set forth? Not a chance.

However, I trust the Holy Spirit of God will move me farther along the path.

I invite you to reflect along with me each Friday as together we shout, It’s Jesus.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on It’s Jesus.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in God Reflection, It's Jesus Friday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

2 thoughts on “Jesus and My Tribe

Leave a Reply

