Path Words to the Holy: Intellectual


GodReflection: Power Words

garyguarujaThose who relate to the Holy by their walk on the intellectual pathway must seem strange to others. This pathway sounds far too professorial.

To believe God and follow Jesus has little to do with intellect. It is a matter of trust.

Pulpits and professors often make it sound as if a lost person needs to understand Old Testament History and the book of The Revelation to please and appease God—not so.

Jesus is never concerned with brain size. His issue is trust. 

So, why would a disciple concern his/herself with deep digging?

intellect1My guess is that God wired some uniquely as the deep diggers. I know wonderful Christ followers not assembled in this manner. They too walk close to God. They follow different sacred pathways in their walk with the Holy.

After a lifetime of observation, I conclude the intellectual pathway to be my second trail most traveled. I believe the reason is its fit with my primary thinker pathway.

Let me say again; for most observers to think of the intellectual pathway as bringing anyone close to God seems a far stretch. Is it possible those who walk the intellectual trail find themselves wired by God to seek? It is in my DNA to want to know. That doesn’t make me better—only different.

intellect3The intellectual exercise of reading and examining conclusions of others flows directly into my primary pathway of thinker. My ultimate desire is to know God, the Son, and the Spirit.

To do so is to follow a walkway designed for me. The intellectual pathway seems to be a good fit for my quest. I contend that I walk with ease the intellectual pathway since that is the trail God designed me to follow.

I described in an earlier post the pathway of builder as being my third most natural trail in relating to the Holy. It is as if my primary path of thinker merges with my secondary path the intellectual, to fuel my third trail as builder. The three paths merge into a broader road where I encounter God within the greatest potential of my wired design.

I walk this trail in view of the fact it is God’s wiring—a circuitry that came from Him.

Father God,

Thank you for diversity. Thank you for wiring you creation to respond to you separately, yet in unison, as one wonderful painting of your creation. intellect7

I praise you for giving the artist, the builder, the caregiver, the thinker, the expressive, and the intellectual personalities each a  familiar path to walk that they may better know you. 

In the name of the Holy, 

Amen

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on the Intellectual as a Holy Path Word of Power.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in God Reflection, Power Words and tagged , , , , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

4 thoughts on “Path Words to the Holy: Intellectual

  1. Doc, I really appreciate how you have been developing the idea of the different ‘pathways’ that reflect the way God has ‘hard-wired’ into each one of us…it helps to explain a complicated human phenomena in a very understandable and non-threatening way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

