Path Words to the Holy: Builder


GodReflection: Power Words

garyguarujaI didn’t appreciate it at the time yet; in many ways to experience my youth in the Southwest United States was an exercise in freedom. Federal lands compose 51% of the combined area of nine of the eleven western states.

That meant my state–as one of the nine–with its national forests, national parks, wilderness, and rangelands was a boundary less playground of exploration.

builder9Thousands of worn pathways crisscross these lands without fences. They stand tribute to wild animals that manage their own system of roads. Worn bare from use they are pathways through natural habitat.

The imagery translates into pathways to the Holy God. I keep two or three paths worn from use. Others I travel infrequently. They are not as comfortable to my wiring or as natural as my favorite trails.

My favorite paths are those I traverse with ease and with confidence. I know them well.

builder1I am at home among the builders.

It is as if intuitively I follow the builder pathway. There is something about the feel of being at the center of God’s will when I set free my God wiring as a builder.

There is a confidence that God smiles as kingdom projects move in a positive direction. I thrill at the stories of those who become children of the King through a project God chose to bless.

The apostle Paul out of deep gratitude for undeserved grace followed the builder path across the Roman world. I love his imagery.

The one who plants and the one who waters have one purpose, and they will each be rewarded according to their own labor. For we are co-workers in God’s service; you are God’s field, God’s building.

By the grace God has given me, I laid a foundation as a wise builder, and someone else is building on it. But each one should build with care.

Here is what I think.

Builder, as a path words to the Holy stands in third place among the paths I identify that lead me to experience the presence of God. In my sunset years, due to age and a well-worn body I find I travel its pathway less.

What a fun path it is for one who received God’s wiring as a builder. At the core is the realization of being a partner with God in a holy task. I still feel excitement just to think of the process.

builder5To draw blueprints, recruit co-workers, gather resources, execute steps, witness God’s power, and stand in awe at the kingdom fruits that grows and ripens without end, is the joy of the walk down the builder’s pathway.

Dear Holy God,

I think of your list in the Hebrew Letter of the men and women who walked the Builder Pathway prior to the arrival of Jesus on earth.

I greatly admire the thousands upon thousands who accepted your call upon their lives to follow the Builder Pathway since the resurrection.

I pray for those who will yet answer the call as fellow workers; those who will gravitate to a closer walk with You through active participation as builders of the Kingdom.

May the reign of Jesus cover the earth.

I pray through His Holy Name.

Amen

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Builder as a Holy Path Word of Power.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

Leave a Reply

