Path Words to the Holy


GodReflection: Power Words

garyguarujaWhat adds texture to life is the fact that every person I meet; be they close family, distant relatives, neighbors, clerks, or authors, each is a one of a kind blue print.

God used a wiring blueprint unique to me. The design is an original.

Newsflash—God isn’t surprised at uniqueness since He is the Holy Engineer.

I spent my life in the arena of teamwork. For teams to function it is necessary that each member recognizes his/her wiring. How did God wire me? What are my strengths? What are my weaknesses? What are my gifts?

Just as important is to identify others wiring patterns. What skill do they bring to the table that is missing in my package? Together we are God’s orchestra in a harmonious performance within His creation.

pathways8Ten years after my start with a church planting team that served in a South American megacity, I found myself in a graduate class at Texas Tech University. I was fascinated with my introduction to the Myers Briggs Type Indicator.

In 1921 Carl Gustav Jung published his book Psychological Types in which he put forth the idea that humankind experiences the world through the four functions of sensation, intuition, feeling, and thinking.

Katharine Cook Briggs and Isabel Briggs Myers extrapolated the four types into an instrument of 93 questions known today as the Myers Briggs Type Indicator.

The Myers Briggs Type Indicator takes Jung’s four identified characteristics and divides personality function into 16 types. Its purpose is to help the participant understand unique wiring.

I am a realistic, thinking, flexible, introvert. Is there something to build? I’m your guy. Is there a need for a composer, a commander, a performer, a dynamic leader, or a social bug? Then, definitely, I’m not your person.

pathways1In 1996, Sacred Pathways—Discover Your Soul’s Path to God appeared on Bookstore shelves. For author Gary L. Thomas to recognize one’s wiring provides a pathway to a rich relationship with God.

Over a decade ago, Bill Hybels, of South Barrington’s Willow Creek Church gave a lecture at a Global Leadership Summit based on Thomas’ book. It gave me the vocabulary to pursue a new awareness of my wiring as it relates to worship of Creator God.

I want to use the concept of sacred pathways as a springboard over the next several posts to examine power words that facilitate worship. My plan is to consider numerous pathways such as art, builder, contemplation, service, and others in a list of a dozen pathways I’ve identified. Obviously, there are more.

pathways7Only three pathways from my list of twelve create in my soul major connection power to the Holy. Words from the remaining nine are obviously the primary pathway to the Holy for those wired differently from me.

The Apostle Paul states the basic principle in his letter to the church in Rome. For just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us.

See you next time on a sacred pathway as I consider power words that facilitate relationship with the Holy.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Power Words that lead to Sacred Pathways.

Gary@GodReflection.org          www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com  

Leave a Reply

