Contrast Beyond Words


GodReflection: Power Words

garyguarujaI saw the Hope diamond.

I am only one of the hundreds of thousands who laid their eyes on it since King Louis of France purchased it in 1668. contrast3Today, in its current Smithsonian home, it is arguably the most visited museum object in the world and is recognized as “the ultimate example of value and perfection.”

On my desk is a small reddish tint rock taken from the grave of my son. It too has value, howbeit, a value of a different kind.

contrast4The contrast between the two rocks is beyond measure. Both stones are valuable.

I find contrast to be a word of power in my walk.

To say there is contrast between who I am and who Jesus is, understates the reality. As a reddish tint rock, I am incalculable degrees away from the perfection of Jesus.

His value is immeasurable. His value is infinite. His value fuels my walk.

Unbelievable as it may be I too am valuable.

contrast2My value came to me by God. My value instilled into me by the spark of the Creator grows through the Holy Spirit toward Jesus’ likeness. Yet in my human form the contrast remains.

Jesus is perfect love, perfect forgiveness, perfect grace, perfect humility, perfect honesty, and perfect purity in thought and action.

He is the mirror reflection of God.

The contrast between my walk and the risen Lord is colossal.

The good news is Jesus instilled in me a desire for step-by-step transformation as I navigate my earthly stay.

Funny, the contrast between Jesus and me doesn’t result in discouragement. Rather, the perfection of Jesus is a brilliant glow that draws rather than intimidates.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Contrast as a Power Word.

Gary@GodReflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in God Reflection, Power Words and tagged , , , , , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

