I Want to be Dependent


GodReflection: Power Words

garyguarujaI am a Baby Boomer.

That makes dependent not an easy word in my vocabulary.

As a member of the Boomer clan my culture drilled independence into every pore of my soul. The message of dependence wasn’t in my solar system.

If it broke–fix it. If to be President was my goal then do it. Should I need to go from point A to point B–then go.

dependent3The Baby Boomer expectation has its upside. It burned into my soul a certain amount of self-confidence and vision that searched horizons for problems needing solutions.

With maturity, I learned not every problem has solutions and I most likely won’t be President anytime soon.

I find there are downsides to my life as an independent Baby Boomer.

Since “I can do it myself,” was tattooed on my soul, it isn’t easy to share life loads with others and seems a little unnatural to help someone who looks fit to solve their own problems.

Nor, is it without challenges to turn life over to God and trust Him as my caregiver on earth and throughout eternity.

dependent1I was in a Chicago audience during August 2011 where education reformer Michelle Rhee gave a fascinating interview. I remembered her from the news clips during her tenure as Chancellor of the Washington D.C. Public Schools.

At the close of the interview Jim Mellado posed this question (with her permission), “You are on your own spiritual journey right now. How would you describe where you are?”

I was sympathetic to her answer as she said:

I would describe myself as an aspiring Christian. I have a couple of things stopping me from making the whole Jump.

It was her second obstacle that caught me off guard:

I’m a very linear rational sort of person—some might say I am a little bit of a control freak. I have problems turning things over to people I know, and I trust. [People] I can touch . . . and have worked with for years. 

So the idea of this concept of let go and let God is a tough one for me—like let it go to who—to what? 

You gotta let go and let God. It’s hard. I am working on it. I’m trying to get there. 

dependent11She seemed so close. If I were to guess, I suspect Ms. Rhee stopped “aspiring” released the control, jumped in, and is now dependent upon Jesus. If so, I imagine she finds dependence upon God is a lesson that needs daily attention.

However, this post isn’t about Michelle Rhee.

It’s about my need to depend 27/4 upon God. This post is about my dependence upon the sacrifice of Jesus as payment for my sin.

This post is about my belief in Jesus teaching:

dependent12Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. . . . Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. . . . See how the flowers of the field grow. . . . Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. . . . But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”

This post is about dependence upon God.

It is there I want to camp.

dependent13After I confessed to Him my dependence and submitted to Him through participatory baptismal water of death and resurrection I now belong with those who depend upon God for my daily walk. As His child, I trust Him to look out for my security.

Power comes from that very fact.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Dependent as a Power Word.

Gary@GodReflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

