Is My Faith THE FAITH?


GodReflection: Power Words

garyguarujaThere are times I refer to my faith, your faith, or the faith of others. There is a sense in which that is a legitimate use of faith.

In Matthew 24 when Jesus describes the end times he comments that, many will turn away from THE FAITH.

The author of Hebrews, Jude, the physician Luke, the apostles Paul, and Peter, take Jesus use of the noun—THE FAITH—as the descriptor of Christ’s significance and mission.

In their letters, people became obedient to THE FAITH. Opponents attempted to turn others from THE FAITH. They encouraged disciples to remain true to THE FAITH. They strengthened churches in THE FAITH. The challenge was to stand firm in THE FAITH.

the faith3The people were to test themselves to see whether [they] are in THE FAITH. Paul preached THE FAITH.

. . . we all reach unity in THE FAITH and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ.

We find joy in THE FAITH. THE FAITH holds deep truths. It is possible for someone to suffered shipwreck with regard to THE FAITH.

Some will abandon THE FAITH. Love is in THE FAITH. Partnership is in THE FAITH. We are to strive together as one for THE FAITH of the good news of forgiven sin through the cross, the tomb, and the resurrection. To deny THE FAITH makes one worse than an unbeliever.

the faith4I find an abundance of statements from New Testament writers who see THE FAITH as a position of grace engraved in relationship with Jesus.

Here is what I think.

THE FAITH is a descriptive term used by Jesus and the authors of the New Testament Letters to describe those in Christ.

Missionaries from THE FAITH went into the world. Because of THE FAITH martyrs died. Christ followers die for Jesus not for doctrinal interpretation. The church isn’t afraid to suffer since its identity is firm in THE FAITH.

THE FAITH is recognition of the supremacy of Jesus and his work of redemption.

In the language of the small letter of Jude to contend for THE FAITH that was once for all entrusted to God’s holy people, was to fight for the place of Jesus as the holy redemptive gift of God.

the faith10A group with evil intent assailed the faith of Jude’s audience by a redefinition of grace that allowed for their immoral practice and denied Jesus Christ as Lord.

The offenders denied the place of Jesus. They were not in argument over a practice of the church.

To contend for THE FAITH is to keep the focus upon Jesus Christ the Risen Sovereign Lord.

It is true that I want to live my life in alignment with the teachings of Jesus and in submission to him. However, I no longer see THE FAITH as a body of doctrinal presuppositions to defend.

To be sound in THE FAITH is to be solid in my conviction that Jesus is who he claims to be.

the faith1I want to join with the Apostle Paul in submission to THE FAITH that gives eternal life. I want to echo his words, I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept THE FAITH.

My trust in Jesus makes me sound in THE FAITH.

THE FAITH is a powerful word and a powerful concept. It is so because THE FAITH equals Jesus.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J Sorrells – A GodReflection on the Faith as a Power Word.

Gary@GodReflection.org       www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in God Reflection, Power Words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

