Community beyond My Church


GodReflection: Power Words

Come, let us bow down in worship, let us kneel before the Lord our Maker; – Psalms 95:6

garyguarujaThe big over arching designation of community seems cold.

We use the word in its remote sense to describe Anglo community, Hispanic community, Chinese community, the Washington community, and the community of nations.

The pictures that come to mind don’t bring with them an abundance of warm fuzzy feelings.

I get the impression that God wants community at the heart of His people. My guess is that His desire is to see millions of units of nurture across the face of the earth saturated by love that flows from allegiance to Jesus. Jesus called that body. New Testament writers called it family and church.

community9We humans have tried to get church on earth right for the past 2000 years. We haven’t won many Nobel Prizes for our efforts.  What if we thought of church in terms of communities—joined at the hip with Jesus—and in genuine relationship with other Believers. (Sounds like a church described in Acts 2).

Here is what I think.

Unlike the fellowship of God that I join, there is a sense I have a say as to the makeup of my community of faith from which I receive—and give—love, grace, nurture, and care.

community4My faith community is composed of those God placed in my path over my life’s walk. Truth is over a lifetime I’ve walked and crossed paths with fellow Believers from a host of different cities, states, and nations. For reasons that I don’t comprehend fully, a core group of these people make up my community of faith.

I count upon them for encouragement, counsel, and care. We enjoy community within Church. We extend grace to each other.

Modern means of travel, and our digital age facilitate interaction. We don’t need to walk for miles or days to enjoy a meal together. Communication can be instantaneous.

My community of faith is select members of Christ’s body the church. My community stands under the great cloud of witnesses described in Hebrews 11. In the spirit of a genuine relationship of nurture and mutual care, my faith community may or may not be from among my fellow congregants with whom I worship each week.

communty1Obviously, I worship God in the setting of my local church. However, is it too much of a stretch to consider my daily interaction with members of my community of faith to be submitted to the Holy as worship?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Community as a Power Word.

Gary@GodReflection.org              www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in God Reflection, Power Words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

