My Heart Stands Between Me and God’s Grace


GodReflection: Power Words

Come, let us bow down in worship, let us kneel before the Lord our Maker; – Psalms 95:6

garyguarujaA graduate class comes to mind.

The professor drew a circle on the board in front of our class. The challenge placed before us as students was to place the core words of Scripture within the circle and peripheral words on the outside.

heart12I suspect until my involvement in that classroom exercise I hadn’t given a lot of thought about the weight of words in God’s communication with His children. I came to see that certain words and concepts are so crucial that they support both the core of what God is doing as well as the core of my response to Him.

A few posts back I spoke of heart as the vital link to worship in song. Heart is such a powerful word I feel the need to re-massage it—hopefully to a greater depth.

heart16Today, the power word ‘heart’ would appear near the center of my classroom whiteboard circle. It would snuggled close to the death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus.

For it is only through a surrendered heart that I receive the benefit of God’s grace resulting from the cross, the tomb, and from risen life.

My heart is the fountain for the most significant decision of my life. I must give away its allegiance. Do I present it to God or give it to Satan? By its very nature, I cannot hoard it for myself. However, only I can offer my heart to another.

There is a quandary with my heart. I find that even when I present it to God, I am always on Satan’s radar as he works to change or weaken my loyalty.

Satan knows the importance of my heart. He knows it connects to my eternal destiny. To steal my heart is to strike at God.

My life’s purpose is to give my heart to God as a 24/7 gift of worship.

The Gospels and the Letters paint the contrast between fertile hearts loyal to God and hard hearts filled with deceit and rejection.

heart17Jesus makes the case for importance when he reminds me, where [my] treasure is, there [my] heart will be also.

Once I present my heart to God, I accept His gift of grace and in gratitude flowing from my heart I pledge to love him with all [my] heart, with all [my] understanding and with all [my] strength, and to love [my] neighbor as myself . . .”

In that state I become one in heart and mind with all believers. As one raised with Christ, I set my heart on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God.

Here is what I think.

In God’s time, my soul will live on a new and perfect earth under a newly created heaven. God will clothe my soul with a new and perfect body.

Both my heart and my mind will make the journey.

heart23I anticipate the joy of receiving a renewed mind and a pure and perfect heart.

To my heavenly delight I will live forever free from Satan’s advances.

God’s future will be mine as long as my earthly walk keeps my heart true to the center of God’s power circle. It must remain ever close to the death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus, while I attempt to live out His gift of grace.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – a GodReflection on the Power of the Word Heart.

Gary@GodReflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in God Reflection, Power Words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

