God Accepts Sincere Worship


GodReflection: Power Words

Come, let us bow down in worship, let us kneel before the Lord our Maker; – Psalms 95:6

garyguarujaSincere is not a word that needs definition. Intuitively, we know it when we see it.

There is a wonderful story that to the best of my knowledge is untrue. Like a parable of Jesus, it is a fabricated story that teaches a true lesson.

I first heard it told in the Portuguese Language.

Part of the reason the story works so well in Portuguese is the root Latin word for sincere come from “sin” translated (without) and “ceras” (wax). In Portuguese, the two words translate “sem” (without) and “ceira” (wax).

Thus, the story (without basis) gives these two Latin words “without wax” as the origin of the English word “sincere.”

sincere11The story goes that in Roman times when an artisan made a mistake in the creation of a sculpture, he would hid the defect with a painted over wax fill.

A perfect piece was “without wax.” It was a sincere (sem ceira) piece without hypocrisy.

The folktale creates a wonderful image.

Although, I fall far short of the ideal demonstrated in the life of Jesus, I want my actions to be sincere. It is wrong to deceive others by the camouflage of my wax filling.

Jesus wants me to live a life free from pretense or deceit. His standard is to be genuine.

The writer Luke describes the hearts of those first believers who made up the new body of Jesus.  Every day they continued to meet together in the temple courts. They broke bread in their homes and ate together with glad and sincere hearts.

Jesus freed their hearts from pretense and deceit. Their lives were free of wax. Their love and trust in Jesus was authentic.

sincere5Authors of New Testament letters shared the sincere standard of Jesus with the churches. Love was to be sincere. Faith was to be sincere. Servants in the church were sincere. 

James taught that to be sincere is to participate in the wisdom of God.

Here is what I think.

Sincerity is a salvation issue. Without sincerity, there is no relationship with Jesus.

God and pretense don’t mix.

If my walk with Jesus is not sincere—I have no walk with him at all.

Without sincerity, there can be no worship. Without sincerity, I can only masquerade as a worshiper of God.

When I fall, sincerity brings me to repentance.

Sincerity covers a multitude of sin for it is only in sincerity that I live under the shady covering of God’s grace.

Each day I need the Holy Spirit to remind me of the implication of the power word sincere.sincere8

May He make it appear in my dreams. May He whisper it in my ear. May He cause it to appear before my eyes. May He plant it in the depth of my soul and place it on my tongue and in my heart.

I want to live in worship under the authenticity of the word sincere.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on the Power Word Sincere.

Gary@GodReflection.org

www.makeyourvisiongoviral.com

 

Leave a Reply

