The Book


GodReflection: Power Words

garyguarujaLast year I published a book. I was the author. I went to great lengths to make it a quality work. To my complete disappointment—it hasn’t sold.

book9A major reason for a lack of sales is the lack of hard work after publication. I haven’t put the proverbial shoe leather to the pavement. People won’t purchase what they don’t know exists.

My ego is slow to face my failure.

In the realm of publishing I can fail and the sun still rises anew morning after morning.

I think of the books that record my name. My name is in a book that attests to my birth and in another that verifies the date of my marriage. Both books exists in storage rooms of an old Court House.

My name is in record books of banks, governments, health, and educational entities. My name is in the front of the books in my library and on ownership pages of my Bibles.

The common end to my name listed in books will be oblivion. A time will come when all earthly books that contain my name will see destruction.

book6An important book will survive. (It will not be my non-seller.)

The eternal book It is one of my North Star power words.

It is “The Book”. It is the one where my name must appear within its pages. This book will last forever and will provide the pinnacle in recognition.

It is first mention in Scripture by the Psalmist David. He was hacked by his unjust treatment from the wicked. His soul shouts, May they be blotted out of the book of life and not be listed with the righteous.

He knew it to be impossible for wicked people to taint the Throne Room of God.

David’s warning should be enough to make me want to power my life by the blood of God’s sacrificial Son. I want my name listed in the Book of Life.

God’s Son Jesus paints the picture of the importance of the Book of Life. Its importance is the difference between eternal life and eternal death.

book2The one who is victorious will, like them, be dressed in white. I will never blot out the name of that person from the book of life, but will acknowledge that name before my Father and his angels. . .Nothing impure will ever enter it, nor will anyone who does what is shameful or deceitful, but only those whose names are written in the Lamb’s book of life. . .Anyone whose name was not found written in the book of life was thrown into the lake of fire.

Here is what I think.

From the picture Jesus paints in the Gospels, I would have to admit I grew up in a religious environment in and around my own church temple. There is a sense that church activities are so common to me I could attend them without Jesus. Should I to do so, I would miss the appearance of my name in the Book of Life.

The rhetorical question and God’s answer to the people in the day of Micah the prophet was, He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.

Here is what I believe.

By acceptance of the sin covering shadow cast from the cross of Jesus through his death, burial, and resurrection, I attempt to be Jesus in my world. I do that as I share the heart of Jesus’ love for justice, mercy, and a humble walk with God.

book4Relationship with Jesus allows my name to appear in the Book of Life. That fact alone makes the BOOK a word of power to motivate my walk.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on the Power of the Book of Life.

Gary@GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

