I’m Special


GodReflection: Power Words

garyguarujaThe plates on our table were rather common.

The china was different. It was a special set. It spent most of its life in a special place. We wouldn’t dream of its use for a common meal. Mom set it apart for special use.

special3Every family owned a set of fine dinnerware. We called it china. Everyone knew the family china held a special place in the home. More wealthy families than ours purchased a cabinet with glass doors to display the family treasure.

We would set apart the china for use with guests and holiday meals. Sometimes Mom brought it out for Sunday dinner.

God often referred to His people as special.  They are set apart from all others. This designation described His purpose for His people. They aren’t to live as others.  They are God’s people living in His world. They are to reflect God.

Reading the Prophets makes it easy to see God’s broken heart. His people refused to live set apart lives with the Creator. They lived exactly like the nations around them. God often chastises His people for being more evil than all other nations. God had no visible testimony to show the world. His people refused to be special.

With the birth, death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus, God’s children can again be special to Him.

special7I want God to be proud to display my life in His China Cabinet. I want God to look at me as one set apart for special use. When God encounters a fellow traveler on my road, He wants to use me as His special china, to make welcome His guest.

I am one of His exhibits to others as to the love He shows creation through His gift Jesus.

There is something interesting about me as God’s china. The Gary china is nicked and chipped and contains hairline cracks. When I agreed to follow Jesus, he did something special with my set.

He painted it with his blood. His blood hides the chips and cracks in such a manner that as God examines it, He can only see perfect special china. The restorers name displayed in initials baked onto the backside of the china read J.C.

It is special to be on display in God’s China Cabinet. His cabinet is unique. There is always room to add to His collection.

special5When I think of the special interest the Creator has in me—the word special turns into a word of power to guide my walk.

Do you feel like a piece of God’s special china? That is exactly your identity if you are surrendered clay.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Special as a Power Word.

Gary@Godreflection.org

This entry was posted in God Reflection, Power Words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

