Rest Becomes a Power Word


GodReflection: Power Words

garyguarujaI remain enamored with the newborn baby that rests so peacefully on the row in front of us at church.

She is so symbolic of the life cycle in Jesus. She begins in rest, will find rest with Him as she faces life, and will one day receive perfect rest on the new earth.

As I write this, I experience the other end of the life cycle. Death is once again the cause of interruption and sadness as it knocked on the door of four lifelong friends and hovers at the door of another.

rest9Through the dark cloud of sadness the cool breeze of rest for them helps to make their departure tolerable.

My five friends knew the pain and frustration of life inside of diseased bodies. Disease placed in motion by Satan at Eden. Now rest is theirs. The disease they left with Satan. Now their purified souls rest in the presence of God.

Like my new newborn worship companion at my church—what was old is now new and is more at rest than the little infant.

rest5Rest—I too look forward to a time when all who are in Jesus are at rest from Satan’s interference.

I don’t want to miss the rest. I claim the promise of Jesus: “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

That makes rest a motivational word of power. I want to live surrendered to Jesus so that I too may one day enjoy the rest.

I like what John heard from heaven and recorded for my encouragement.  It centers upon the power word “rest.”

Then I heard a voice from heaven say, “Write this: Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on.” “Yes,” says the Spirit, “they will rest from their labor, for their deeds will follow them.”

Let’s include rest as a power word to guide our walk on earth.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on the Power Word Rest

Gary@GodReflection.org

2 thoughts on “Rest Becomes a Power Word

  1. Doc, as always, a very good article…disease and suffering can only be ultimately understood when in the context of (1) eternity, and (2) perfect trust in a Creator that loved us so much that He spared not even His Only Son to deliver us ultimately from all disease and suffering, ushering us into His perfect, glorious and eternal presence! Modifying the propaganda of the guy who does the commercials for ‘Dos Equis’ beer…”Keep (writing) my friend!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

