Mystery Is Power


GodReflection: Power Words

aboutI don’t remember mystery being a word used by my childhood church. I grew up with a faith I could touch, see, and smell. In fact, until recent times, mystery didn’t rank high at all in my power word dictionary.

The teaching I received most of my life was concerned more with identifying truth rather than mystery contemplation. What I am going to say next is rather simplistic: It isn’t hard to learn the commands of God. What’s hard is to accept the mystery and live like Jesus.

mystery1Paul tells his young colleague Timothy that Jesus leaps into action through the misty light of mystery. Beyond all question, the mystery from which true godliness springs is great: He appeared in the flesh, was vindicated by the Spirit, was seen by angels, was preached among the nations, was believed on in the world, was taken up in glory.”

Once I submit to Jesus everything about life morphs into mystery. The Father, Son, and Holy Spirit power my walk. How does that work?  How is it possible for human me to grow more like Holy God? How does the blood of Jesus make me sinless in God’s sight?

It’s nothing less than mystery.

Neither God nor His Holy Scripture is one-dimensional.

A part of the mystery is this: Holy Scripture is simple enough for me to meet God and to know what I must do to reach right relationship with Him. At the same time, it presents the mystery of knowing God and being His representative on earth as being so rich that I cannot fully comprehend it this side of the grave.

mystery3Like other words of power, mystery reminds me of the depth of God, the distance He moved toward me for my salvation, the strength of His love, and of how deep my gratitude should be.

This side of heaven I will always have room to grow and increase my understanding. That is living with the power of mystery.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on the Power Word Mystery.

Gary@GodReflection.org

This entry was posted in God Reflection, Power Words and tagged , , , , , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

