There’s Power in the Yoke


GodReflection: Power Words

aboutI lived on a farm for two years.

That didn’t make me a farmer.

Truth is my farming experience is zilch. I left the farm when I was two years old. Therefore, I know nothing about work animals.

However, I am intrigued with the use of animals in Scripture to illustrate God’s lessons.

yoke5Much of the imagery of Scripture surrounds agriculture. God’s story evolved in and around the fields of what we know as the Middle East.

It is impossible for me to appreciate the agriculture stories and illustrations as much as someone who found themselves dependent upon the land and their animals for survival.

A strong image used throughout Scripture is the picture of a yoke.

yoke4The yoke is always symbolic for domination and slavery in Old Testament Scripture.

Jesus changes the imagery in the New Testament. The yoke is no longer feared.

The death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus took fear from the yoke.

He lets it be known to all he is willing to shoulder the load. The Lord makes an announcement. It is not so much an announcement as it is an invitation.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

This is how I picture the metaphor. I have a choice of two yokes.

I can continue wear a single yoke through life. Under the single yoke, I alone carry the yoke18heavy sin load Satan placed on my shoulders. The Devil is not about to lift a finger to help. He is in the business of burden creation. The result is weariness and burden broken.

Jesus invites me to cast aside the single yoke.

He asks me to exchange it for a double yoke that will allow me to work in tandem with him. The neat thing about this arrangement is Jesus has the strength to carry any load that comes my way. I work by his side connected with him in the yoke.

I find my yoke-mate is gentle and humble. My soul rests knowing Jesus leads the way.

yoke13Jesus did the hard work on the cross that allows me to walk in his shadow while he carries the load.

As the Power Word cards flash through my mind, it is a reassuring to remember that Jesus is with me in the yoke. I no longer need to carry my burdens alone. Yoke is a strong and significant power word.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on the Power Word Yoke.

Gary@GodReflection.org

This entry was posted in God Reflection, Power Words and tagged , , , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

2 thoughts on “There’s Power in the Yoke

  1. Loved this! The imagery of a yoke is so powerful. It is a beautiful reminder that regardless of what we face in this life, as followers of Christ, we never have to face it alone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

