God Enters the Tomb


GodReflection: God Enters the Tomb

In the Beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word Was God. – John 1:1

aboutI’m tired of tombs. At this point in life I’ve seen far too many.

familytree6My father and mother came from large families—especially when their uncles, aunts, and cousins were included in the mix. With extended family marriages a gazillion children increased the number of relatives. It seems as if I am kin to everyone.

Wonderful brothers and sisters from across the face of the globe became my family because I am a member of Christ’s family.

With birth comes death.

Over the past 66 years, I stood at tomb closings for people I love far too many times. The tomb robbed me of grandparents, uncles, aunts, cousins, friends, parents, and children.

tomb4The tomb takes way.

No language exists to describe the loss I felt when I walked away from the fresh closed tombs of my sons and my parents. The tomb is a cold unfeeling thief.

God entered the tomb through Jesus.

Had he not done so, my hope for all I have left at the tomb would be in vain.

The Gospels give us a hint as to Jesus dread of the tomb. He pled with the Father in search of another way. In shear anguish, his sweat fell as great drops of blood at the thought of death and the tomb.

Jesus knew Satan would greet him at death’s door where he would spend three days in hell away from the presence of his father.

The intensity of those three days would be beyond description. He would bear the full weight of my sin, your sin, and the sin of every child of God who had lived or who would ever live on the face of the earth.

eternallife5God entered the tomb through Jesus for me.

I am thankful God entered the grave so that one day the tombs of those I love will open.

As I spend this month contemplating God’s final entrance upon planet earth when He sends Jesus to receive His children, I look forward to a time and a place where a tomb is a relic of the past.

Today is a good day to thank God in advance for a time when you will no longer have to endure loss.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – Reflecting on God’s final advent return to planet earth.

Gary@GodReflection.org

This entry was posted in Advent, God Reflection and tagged , , , , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

One thought on “God Enters the Tomb

  1. Gary, Well said. How thankful I am that you continue writing your thoughts, keeping our hearts and minds focused. May God bless you richly for investing so much time and effort into the encouragement and well-being of Christ’s body. How thankful I am for the empty tomb today. Blessings, Denise

    Like

Leave a Reply

