God Uses Nouns


denise-croppedThere is a scene in the movie Joe Versus the Volcano that reminds me of how infinite God is. I have not seen this movie in a while, but to my best recollection it is about a man who is stuck in life, questioning his existence.

After a bizarre twist of events, midway through the movie he ends up ship wrecked, destitute of all of his worldly possessions, weak from not having eaten and no hope in sight. He is floating on a life raft in the middle of the ocean.

One evening while lying flat on his back, a pondering Joe is roused by the moon’s bright edge emerging on the horizon. The ocean ripples appear to dance as they are lit up by the glorious orb.

Joe is keenly in tune to what once was a mere background experience to his miserable life.

He gathers the little strength he has and struggles to raise himself in tandem with the rising of this glorious moon.

With no one else or very little nature to compete with the magnificent view, Joe is changed inside and out.

The lunar globe envelopes the silhouette of the lone figure observing it.

A prayer rolls off of his tongue…

“Dear God whose name I do not know, thank you for my life. I forgot how big…Thank you for my life.”

I was reminded in this short scene how big God is, how great his creation is and how God is worth thanking for every little thing, inside and out of church. It is good to be reminded to thank Him for my life, the one here and now, and the one to come…

God uses people, places and things all around me to bless me and teach me. But this isn’t just for me. It is for others also. In my work-a-day world, I can connect with others because God holds it all together.

He is the image of the invisible God, the first-born of all creation; for in him all things were created, in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or principalities or authorities–all things were created through him and for him. He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.*

God created us to seek Him.

I aim for God, and because of Christ, I can reach Him.

What a gift!

What does unity in Christ have to do with all this?

People have enough battles to fight outside church walls. Our local churches can be a place of refuge and respite where instead of arguments we can have encouraging conversations motivated by seeing God in everything. Instead of fixing others, we can seek to serve others. Rather than allow hurt to divide, maybe it is good to adhere to the writer of Proverbs:

“…the prudent man ignores an insult.”**

When the church is unified, it can cross barriers that mere mortals fail to cross.***

2013.11.God Uses Nouns.Divide

So I ask myself three questions today:

Are my conversations from the church lobby to the auto dealership lobby glorifying Him?

Am I unapologetically yet non-arrogantly praising God with my work and words?

Am I seeing God in people, places and things, and thanking Him in it all so that one more person might be attracted to the Living God?

Just wondering.

*Colossians 1:15-17; **Proverbs 12:16; ***Luke 18:27

One thought on “God Uses Nouns

  1. An addendum – I thought I might clarify that I am not necessarily recommending the movie “Joe Versus the Volcano.” Though it has some other interesting life lessons, it’s plot is a bit bizarre and not everyone will appreciate it’s quirkiness. Have a very blessed day – Denise

    Like

Leave a Reply

