One


aboutI like the sound of one.

Teams like to be number one. The only way number one happens is if the team unites as one.

Children can go by in a blur until one dies and we remember the one in a new and special way.

There is the one time that brings back special memories.

There is that one standout vacation.

Of all relationship on earth, there is one special person who receives priority.

Young churches of the first century learn, “There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.”

Until the last sentence, one was making sense.

Until I read the matter of fact statement of the missionary apostle, warm fuzzes clung to the word one.

Translated to my language, Paul’s matter-of-fact teaching reads, “There is neither citizen nor immigrant, neither dark skin nor light skin, nor is there male and female, remember we are all one church in Christ Jesus.”

Some words do not need explanation.

I asked my children—as my parents asked me—”What’s so hard to understand about no?”

Like the word no, the word one is rather simple to understand. It defines itself—one is one.

My same missionary apostles, reminds another first century church of Jesus’ value placed in one.

I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received.  Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.  Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace. There is one body and one Spirit, just as you were called to one hope when you were called;  one Lord, one faith, one baptism;  one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all.

Talk about a major focus on the definition of one.

Since I placed my life under the umbrella of Jesus, His Cross, and His church, I must ask myself; “Does my living out of church on earth reflect the “ones” spelled out by the apostle?”

As a member of God’s one church, do I reflect in my life one body, one Spirit, one faith, one hope, one baptism, and one God?

After Paul, lists all of the ones, he adds a statement of encouragement; “To each one of us grace has been given as Christ apportioned it.”

I need that reminder.

Paul shows the perfect oneness of the church. I am to do my best to live oneness in my life.

Like a child, I don’t always get it right. Paul wants me to remember that Christ gives me an adequate portion of his grace. His grace covers all failing of a God focused heart.

One day I will experience the completeness of one. I will be home.

Stay tuned.

Gary J. Sorrells – Reflecting on Cross Church

http://www.GodReflection.org

This entry was posted in Cross Church and tagged , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

