Smoky Campfire


aboutI was there. I was among Job’s friends. I was in line. I had the next speech.

Too bad God broke in before I could tell Job how right I was and how he was loaded with sin.

I trained well to be a supplier of truth. From my youth I learned truth was limited to my church associates and I. Sorry, everyone else missed the truth boat.

I received my doctorate in truth by being a missionary. Missionaries receive truth serum at the time of calling. I went to tell the heathen of truth.

For eleven years, I was a member of the academia within a university department of missions. It was somewhat confusing because each of my colleagues had the truth endowment. Truth manifested numerous personal perspectives. If only they would have listened—I was there to enlighten.

(By the way, if you really want to know how to do missions the true way, I have just written the book. I will be happy to see that you get a copy).

I just finished a reunion with Job, his campfire counselors, and with God. At this reunion, the smoky friends made an impression on me.

Too many times before, I read the story from the viewpoint of Job as an attempt to understand suffering. I have always received a high from watching God put everyone in place at the end. That’s a fun exercise when you are on God’s side.

However, never before have I identified so completely with Job’s companions.

It bothers me that I acquire far too many phony facades on life’s journey. Here I am attempting to evaluate my life prior to crossing the finish line and at times, I don’t like what I see.

Where did I ever pick up the idea that I am walking truth? The Father gave that role to Jesus—not to me.

Sure, I want to please God, follow Jesus, and live full of the Spirit, but why would I ever feel the need to clothe the truth façade whether among friends or acquaintances?

Why can’t I just be a fellow pilgrim in search of being more like the only one to declare to be the way, the truth, and the light?

Wouldn’t that clear the smoke around the campfire?

Stay tuned.

Gary J. Sorrells – Reflection on Cross Church.

http://www.GodReflection.com

Leave a Reply

