Body Builder


aboutI have zero fascination with the sport of Body Building.

Most likely, it is because my frame is so old and in such poor shape, a sculptured body for me would be in miracle la-la land.

Besides, what sort of team sport is Body Building? I can’t imagine rooting for my favorite Body Builder. What would I say, sweat, sweat, sweat, or lift, lift, lift?

No, I believe I will stick to baseball. There is no possibility for my body there either but at least I understand the sport.

Church is different—although, I suppose it is sacrilege to refer to it as a Body Building sport.

The true builder of the church is Jesus. Remember, He declared His intent to build the church upon the solid foundation of being God’s son.

blocksThe Apostle Paul first painted the picture of church as body.

Surely, his imagery comes from his initial encounter with Jesus. Paul’s backpack was full of papers from religious leaders giving him the authority to arrest Christ followers.

Boom—he is on the ground and under the spotlight of Jesus. “Who are you, Lord?” he asked. Jesus answers the question with an accusation, “I am Jesus whom you are persecuting.”

Jesus gave him three days in the dark to ponder what it meant to persecute Christ. Jesus feels pain directed at His body.

Paul is smart. He got the message. The church and Jesus’ body are one.

It is not surprising to see Paul reminding members of the church in Rome and Corinth that they are the body of Christ.

 For just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. – – –  so that there should be no division in the body, but that its parts should have equal concern for each other.  If one part suffers, every part suffers with it; if one part is honored, every part rejoices with it.

crowded-gymBody Building is self-centered. (Every Sunday morning I notice that all Gym Church parking lots are packed).

Church Body Building is different. It is a “one another,” project.

As a child of God and a brother to Jesus, I want to see the body of Christ at optimum function. Why would I dare damage a body part.?

Church Body Building is a neat process due to the participants. I don’t do it by myself. I build the Body of Jesus in conjunction with God, Jesus, the Holy Spirit, my brothers, and my sisters.

Sounds like a party doesn’t it?

Just wait until you attend the grand finale celebration.

Stay tuned.

Gary J. Sorrells – Reflecting on Cross Church.

http://www.GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

