Radient, Holy, Blameless


Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her  to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word,  and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless. Eph 5: 25-27

I want to attend that church.

It’s a church with a guarantee like no other.

We meet together as church on earth to receive cleansing and washing through the word of God.

With constant exposure to the word, Jesus assures me He will receive us as a radiant, holy, and blameless church. He will see us as a people without stain, wrinkle, or blemish.

bible-black-and-white2Two observations:

First, as a member of Jesus’ church, I must let Him cleanse me by receiving the word of God. I find I can best do that by personally reading and meditating on Scripture, by listening to teaching of Scripture, and by dialoguing with others who are into the word.

Second, churches that exalt Christ’s love for the church and make the cleansing word of God its centerpiece come closest to being relevant churches for our world. For from Christ’s love for the church, and God’s cleansing word, comes the healing needed by every human being.

I NEED TO RE-READ WHAT I JUST WROTE!

For me, the question is, “How can I be of assistance in helping to create a climate where church and healing meet Jesus and the cleansing word.”  For it is in that process that a radiant, holy, and blameless church becomes visible.

I don’t want to promote sectarianism. I see no way that comes from the heart of Jesus.

TSectarianism1o be known solely for what I am against is not an identity that comes from Jesus’ heart.  To condemn others because they don’t agree with me is not an attitude from the heart of Jesus.

I want to promote a diversified church.

A good bowl of chicken soup must contain chicken. However, its table presentation can be in blue bowls, red bowls, yellow cups, deep plates, crystal, paper, and plastic.

The Gospel is the Gospel. It can and should make its presentation in diverse bowls, cups, saucers, and plates.

One model of church does not fit all.

Language, culture, technology, economics, neighborhoods, dress, music, presentation, communication, age, cultural values, educations, personality traits, and a gazillion other factors can block or facilitate the penetration of God’s message. The same factors will influence my ability to relate to fellow believers.

Jesus desires His church incorporate diversity and present unity to the world. Diversity is a God given gift. Unity is a work of God’s Holy Spirit.

I want to believe diversity is God’s gift and stop criticizing its appearance. I want to believe unity is a work of God’s Holy Spirit and give the Spirit room to work in my life.

I welcome your insights. Let’s see if we can learn to live diversity without messing with the contents inside of blue cups and red saucers.

Jesus is looking for a radiant, holy, and blameless church, not a boring, irrelevant, and sectarian assembly.

Stay tuned. – Gary J. Sorrells – On Cross Church.

Leave a Reply

