Father God


The night Jesus was in the Garden of Gethsemane praying and sweating in agony, he called his father Abba. It is an especially sweet term used by a Hebrew child toward his daddy.

Because I declare my allegiance to God as my father, he declares to me I am his son. Sonship means I am among his children who hold rights to my Father’s estate.

Call me old fashioned,  but I have trouble calling Holy God, “Daddy.” I want to trust him and love him as I did my own father. A part of the reason I loved and trusted my own father was because he poured out trust and love on me over a lifetime.

God treats me with love and trust—and even to a greater extent than I can possibly fathom. With God, I feel the Abba relationship, yet still am not comfortable in calling the Creator my Daddy.

God must know my reluctance. Holy Scripture tells me, The Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship. In addition, by him we cry, “Abba, Father.” Because you are his sons, God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the Spirit who calls out, “Abba, Father.”

Jesus describes the Spirit who came to live inside of me, as one who represents me before God.  That Spirit of Jesus living within me translates into God’s presence all of my desires and feelings. He knows I am too timid to call my heavenly father “daddy.”

I don’t anticipate ever losing my sense of God’s holiness. Since the Apostle John describes Angels in the throne room of God, bowing down and crying, “Holy, Holy, Holy,” I suspect that will also be my reaction in the restored garden.

While I travel on earth toward the restored garden, it is enough for me to know that God thinks of me as his son and I have Jesus and his Holy Spirit as my representatives. They are more than comfortable with the word and the concept of Abba. It is Jesus and his Holy Spirit who translate my intimate feelings into God’s language. They translate for me the Abba designation to God.

What are your reflections?  How comfortable are you with God? Can you see him as your living Abba?

Stay tuned. – Gary Sorrells

Leave a Reply

